Meet Junior Rider Tai-Lee Smith

This Friday marks the fifth week of Bear Development Team’s Junior Series! We are honored to dedicate our weekly post to the introduction of one member of the Bear Development Team.
Check in every week to get the inside scoop on Bear’s Junior Team!
This week, meet…


Racing Age: 15
Hometown: Breckenridge, CO
Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel 9.9 RSL
Favorite Training Song: “Would You Ever” by Skrillex
Best Post-Ride Snack: Almond butter rice cake with chia seeds

I grew up in Breckenridge, Colorado, alpine skiing, nordic skiing, dirt biking, playing soccer, hiking, and biking. The first sport that I was really into was gymnastics. I did gymnastics for 6 years until 6th grade, when the time commitment and driving became too much. But with the growing biking community, there were lots of races and tons of trails to ride on.

Starting off, biking was always an activity to do with my family to have fun and get outside. But when I was seven I started to do competitive racing against my sisters in the local series. The series was something fun to do over the summer where I could hang out with friends and stay after for the prizes/food. This definitely started my interest in racing bikes.

As of two years ago, I started to race the bigger races outside of Colorado. Traveling with my family I went to nationals in Mammoth, California. Last fall I raced the Colorado High School League which was super fun. I got to race some of the fastest girls in CO and make tons of new friends. Finishing off the season by racing JV at states against my teammate Ruth Holcomb.

Tai-Lee and her Bear Dev teammate Ruth!

When I’m not biking, I love to be outside with my family, friends, and dogs. In the summer, hiking 14ers and dirt biking on the jeep roads are some of my favorite things, as well as paddle boarding on Lake Dillon. When it starts to snow again, I ski the mountains/ski resorts and snow bike for fun.

Competitively, I nordic ski for SNSC in the Rocky Mountain League, and this season I got to race at nationals in Soldier Hollow, Utah. As of now, nordic and biking are my main sports and great cross-training for each other. Over the school year, I play soccer for SHS and ski for the high school nordic team as well. Roller skiing and nordic training over the summer is something I have to balance out with my bike training. But I only really get back into skiing after the fall high school cycling season is over. When I’m not doing some type of physical activity, I enjoy going out to eat with my friends, as well as trying out new recipes.