Meet Junior Bear Athlete Sean Middleton

Every week we will introduce a new member of the Bear Development Team. This week, meet…


Racing Age: 17

Hometown: Greenbrae, CA

Race Bike of Choice: Trek TopFuel 9.9

Favorite Training Song: Nonstop – Drake

Favorite Post-Ride Snack: Chocolate milk + a quesadilla

I started out as your average 3 year old, riding my bike with training wheels. Then one day, my older brother managed to take off my training wheels. That led to me riding a bike to school everyday since the 3rd grade. At that time, I had never thought of cycling as a sport… I was more of a baseball, basketball, soccer, swimming type of guy.

Sean was an athlete from a very young age, and was always staying active. When he was 13, he completed the Silicon Valley Kids Triathlon, which consisted of a 200 meter swim, a 6 mile bike ride, and a 1.25 mile run!

It just so happens that my father is an avid cyclist himself. He was always able to convince me to go out for a ride with him, even when I dreaded it. Every time we went out for a ride, we would return to the same fire road, and every time we rode it, I would try to get one turn further than the ride before. Luckily for me, I was able to find mountain bike racing my freshman year of high school. Ever since that first race, I knew that this was something I wanted to continue.

Nowadays, If I’m not on a bike, its probably because I’m traveling. From going into the forests to go backpacking, to getting to go on a cruise to Antarctica… I’m lucky to have the opportunity to travel so much. Getting to see all different parts of the world has been amazing. I think that all of the outdoor trips I’ve been going on my whole life have made me enjoy the outdoors even more. I appreciate our planet, and I respect mother nature. So far my favorite trip has definitely been getting to explore Sweden with my family. Other than traveling, I work on my scheduling and time management. Staying focused on school, a cycling schedule, and maintaining a social life all at the same time takes hard work and commitment!

Coming from a great town, I have always had the support from everyone around me. I was luckily enough to have an older brother that is a great influence. From being beaten up on the ground, to playing chess at night, I’ve gotten to learn how to have fun from my brother. Also, throughout my entire time cycling, I have always had my mother to guide me. I’m super happy of where mountain biking has taken me so far. It has been a great experience learning this incredible sport.