Meet Junior Rider Paul Fabian

This Friday marks the third week of Bear Development Team’s Junior Series! We are honored to dedicate our weekly post to the introduction of one member of the Bear Development Team.
Check in every week to get the inside scoop on Bear’s Junior Team!
This week, meet…

PAUL FABIAN

Racing Age: 18
Hometown: Prescott, AZ
Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel 9.9 RSL
Favorite Training Song: “Slow Ride” by Foghat
Best Post-Ride Snack: Peanut Butter and Banana Toast w/ Pumpkin Pie Spice

I have grown up in a handful of places across the country, including California, New Mexico, and Ohio, but have spent the largest percentage of time in Arizona. My two younger brothers and I have grown up playing all sorts of sports: baseball and basketball at a younger age, and swimming in middle school. My first real mountain bike riding was in my freshmen year of high school. After purchasing a used bike from my friend, I started riding on the weekends around Prescott’s extensive trail network. My very first race was in April of that same year at the Whiskey Off Road, and I have been hooked ever since. At this point I was still pretty out of shape, but I was determined to stick with it.

In the following years I was lucky to get involved with an excellent NICA program that really helped my development. Prescott’s mountain biking community is filled with a lot of great people, all of whom are excited to see more kids on bikes! In 2016, I was able to travel out of state to race with the Arizona Devo program and surprised myself with strong races late in the year at Angel Fire and MTB Nationals. This was also my final season in NICA, where I was able to cap things off with a State Championship in the Varsity field.


I have an oatmeal obsession…

2017 was my first year in the UCI category. February brought a two-month setback with a knee injury that was only noticeable when riding. Although at the time it seemed like the end of the world, the lessons learned about what it takes to stay healthy on the bike were super important, and I have devoted more time to stretching, rolling, and strength training this year. I was able to find some form for the April races, and was lucky enough to be selected for the Team USA camp in Canada. Racing in Canada provided for a dramatically new experience, with new challenges in the mud and roots. I was happy to head to Switzerland in June with the team, which was an eye-opening experience, and left me even more motivated for this year.

With just one year left in the junior field, I am dedicating a large chunk of my time to training and am going to try to take it as far as I can. I am also really excited to be racing the Whiskey Off Road Pro race this year, just five years after my first race!

I am currently a freshman at Embry Riddle Aeronautical University and am pursuing a degree in mechanical engineering. When I am not riding my bike, I enjoy hiking, swimming, cooking, reading, drawing, and hanging out with friends. Riding gives me a strong sense of freedom, and nothing quite matches the thrill of exploring new roads and trails on two wheels…