Meet U23 Member Nick Lando

Every week for the next month, we will be introducing a member of the Bear Development Pro Team!
Check in to get the inside scoop on Bear Dev’s U23 Riders!
This week, meet…


Racing age: 21
Hometown: Ringwood, NJ
Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel
Favorite Training Song: “Okey Dog” by MURS
Best Post-Ride Snack: I would never say no to a Stack from Moe’s with extra veggies

I’m from Ringwood, NJ, arguably the most under-rated mountain biking area in the country. Yes, it’s true that we don’t just have a bunch of landfills and highways. I have 8 trail networks within an hour drive of my house, 3 of which are within riding distance, and I am 30 minutes from Mountain Creek Bike Park where they held the US Open of Mountain Biking and the Pro GRT.

I am currently a junior studying Entrepreneurial Marketing at the University of Vermont (UVM) where I also race for their cycling team in mountain bike, cyclo-cross, and road. In 2015, I went to the hospital for a concussion in a downhill race and they found a cancerous tumor. My freshman year of college was spent going through various cancer treatments, such as surgeries, biopsies, ultrasounds, etc. Since then I try even harder not to take life for granted. Life is 10% what happens to you and 90% how you react to it. We all have itches, but at the end of the day life is awesome.

I love doing anything where I can be active. When I am not riding bikes, I can usually be found rock climbing, nordic skiing, or absolutely crushing souls in heated games of Monopoly. After school, I plan to get a job in the bike industry either in a marketing or business analytics until I can start my own business as an endurance sports coach.

I got my start in cycling from my parents, much like most riders. However, I got started much later than most of my competitors. My childhood was spent racing motocross since the age of 3. I didn’t even touch a mountain bike until I was 13. I raced my first race at 14 and decided I wanted to race mountain bikes instead of dirt bikes at 15. By 17 and 18, I was burnt out. Luckily, after my surgery, I had some awesome friends that were able to hit the reset button on me and leave me stoked for riding and racing every day of my life.

I would say that my most proud moment was in one semester I brought my GPA up to keep my scholarship. It doesn’t sound like much but I missed a lot of school my freshman year and so my cumulative GPA was a 2.7 and needed to be at a 3.0. I was far enough in the program that in order to get a 3.0 I needed a 3.6 semester GPA. I heavily weighted my semester by maxing out my credit hours and I had tunnel vision for the entire semester. Nothing else mattered besides my 1-1.5 hours of trainer riding a day and getting an A on every single exam. By the end of the semester, I received a 3.7 GPA with 18 credits. I proved to myself that when I apply myself, I am able to accomplish pretty much anything. It is a lesson that I plan to remind myself of throughout school and cycling.