Meet Junior Bear Athlete Max McFadden

Every week we will introduce a new member of the Bear Development Team.


Racing Age: 18

Hometown: Oakland, CA

Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel

Favorite Training Song: Different – SOBxRBE

Favorite Post-Ride Snack: Walnut bread w/ peanut butter + banana

I was introduced to mountain biking by my brother and a few neighborhood friends. Some of the kids I knew had been mountain biking with their parents since elementary school, but I didn’t really get into it until my brother started riding. I started going out on the weekends with my brother Dan and a few neighborhood friends: Emmet, Caleb and Noah (Hayes). We were full-on kooks and we would spend hours and hours looping the same descent as fast as we could. There were a bunch of good riders on my high school team for me to look up to, including my brother and my riding buddies. I think I have largely my brother and Caleb to thank for getting me into mountain biking, and Matthew Tracey-Cook for being my inspiration to get fast. Even today, we go out for hours at a time to ride whenever they are back from college.

Before I got into mountain biking, I was a runner and a soccer player. I played soccer from a really young age, but stopped playing competitively after my freshman year of high school, when I decided to focus my energy on running (cross country and track). This was also my first year of racing mountain bikes, but I wasn’t very committed to the sport at that point. I continued to focus on running through my sophomore year, but I was continually held back by little injuries, which was super frustrating for me. As I continued through my first years of high school I put more and more effort into mountain biking, and I wasn’t having the types of setbacks on my bike that I was while running. Part of the way through my sophomore season of bike racing, I got a little more serious about training, still with no major setbacks. My progress in mountain biking really motivated me, and after an injury plagued Junior year cross country season, I turned all of my athletic focus to cycling.

My family moved to Oakland from San Francisco when I was 4, so I’ve spent pretty much all of my childhood here. I feel privileged to have grown up in such a cool and diverse area, with a surprisingly large trail system in the hills. When I’m not biking (or studying), I listen to music, read, or play soccer for fun. I’m in my senior year of high school now, and my last year racing as a junior. I have some big goals for this season, and I’m really excited to be a part of the program.