Meet Junior Bear Athlete Brayden Johnson

Every week we will introduce a new member of the Bear Development Team. This week, meet…

BRAYDEN JOHNSON

Racing Age: 16

Hometown: West Jordan, UT

Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel

Favorite Training Song: Not Afraid – Eminem

Favorite Post-Ride Snack: Sweet pork burrito

The first time I rode a bike without training wheels I was 3 years old, I had a knack for it. I grew up watching the Le Tour De France with my dad who has been a cyclist my whole life. However, it wasn’t until 2015 when I truly discovered cycling as a sport when my older brother and Dad got involved in NICA. After going to a few races and practices I knew I wanted to give it a shot. That Christmas I got my first mountain bike and started racing NICA in 2016. Cycling is such a great community, I’ve met some life long friends, have traveled to new places, and have been to places only my bike can take me. I love everything about cycling and have been hooked ever since I began.

Before I started cycling I played football for 4 years. Football was my whole life. I loved it and thought I would spend the rest of my life playing. But after my 3rd year things changed the football community was negative, everybody just wanted to beat each other and nobody was friends inside or outside of the game. But, in cycling when we race, we are all in, we want to beat each other but still support and encourage one another. As soon as the race is over we are still friends on and off the bike.

I have loved doing anything on my bike from tricks, balance skills to messing around on jumps and sending it on the trails to suffering and being in the pain cave. This will be my 4th year racing and I am so stoked to be apart of the Bear Development Team for the 2019 season. I have more motivation than ever to train hard and race even harder.

Off the bike, I enjoy hanging out with my friends and family. I like traveling with my family and doing anything outdoors, like hiking, running, building jumps or just exploring. Twice a year my family and I go to Santa Barbara, California and I spend my time at the beach boogie boarding and learning to surf.