Meet Junior Bear Athlete Alexis Bobbitt

Every week we will introduce a new member of the Bear Development Team. This week, meet…

ALEXIS BOBBITT

Racing Age: 18

Hometown: Austin, TX

Race Bike of Choice: Trek Top Fuel 9.9

Favorite Training Song: Waste a Moment – Kings of Leon

Favorite Post-Ride Snack: Bananas + Peanut Butter

Ever since I was born I have been riding bikes. My parents like to say, “she was off training wheels before she was even out of diapers”. My dad was a big cyclist all throughout his life and when he met my mother he got her into it and they decided to pass it on to their children, my 2 brothers and I. We grew up racing since we were the age of three and have always been out at race venues and around the amazing people that are in the cycling sport. Growing up around the cycling community, the support, the spirit, the character, and attitude of everyone in the sport has all built me to be the best me I can be. Everything about mountain bike racing, the community, the excitement, the anticipation, the strength, the challenges, the effort required to excel and so much more is what I found my love for the sport in. I have learned so much through cycling and am still excited to learn so much more that it has to offer.

My family is the reason why I am in this sport today. Both my mom and dad are heavily invested in my cycling career and I love them for it. Through every high and every low on this journey I endure they have stood right by my side and have given me words of wisdom and encouragement to keep me going and get through anything. I am so thankful that I was raised by the most supportive and amazing parents that have always pushed me to achieve what they knew I could even when I didn’t think I could.

When I’m not on the bike, the little time that I am, I am spending time with my amazing family or am in the outdoors on two feet (not two wheels) with my dogs and friends. My family also rides bikes so most of the time we’re on the bikes together but we also love exploring new places together by taking day trips around where we live. Most of the time we are going to parks and hiking down to a river or to some other natural creations. We also love relaxing together and having a ‘sit on the couch and movies’ day in. I love doing new and exciting things so I’m always looking for new places to go and new things to try.

Because I have been part of biking and racing since I was born I went through a stage in my life where I wanted to take a step away from bikes because I was just getting bored of doing the same thing. My parents tried to keep me into it and tried to get me to go out and ride and sometimes it would work and others it wouldn’t. But, when it did work and I got out and rode my bike I loved it and always had so much fun. Luckily, as you can guess from me having the opportunity to be a part of this team, I got back into biking. Around the end of middle school when I started riding with my high school team I started having more fun and found it easier to get myself to go out and ride my bike because I had a team and friends to do it with. My parents saw something special about me and my connection to biking enough to push and fight me to get me out on my bike. I am so lucky to have them behind me pushing me in the direction towards what they knew, and I now know, was right for me.