10 Podium Wins at NorCal Race #1 for Bear Development Team!


NorCal Race #1: Fun at the Fort, East Garrison, CA – February 25 – 26, 2017


Varsity Boys

1st Xander Sugarman

2nd Julian LePelch

4th Tate Meintjes

5th Dylan Fryer

Varsity Girls

1st Mina Ricci

2nd Savilia Blunk

4th Lauren DesRosiers – Alum

6th Mackenzie Lewis

9th Viveka Brockman – Alum

JV Boys D2

2nd Sebastian Dow


JV Girls

1st Clodagh Mellett


Freshman Boys D1

1st Skye Ricci

Bear Development Team U23 Camp + Race Results!

To kick off the 2017 season, Bear held it’s first team camp for the U23 riders in Marin County, CA over MLK Weekend. The U23 team participated in group rides, sports psychology and nutrition classes, strength training seminars, and team building exercises at City Cycle Corte Madera. The camp was supported by our team director, Julia Violich, and the families of our team members in the Bay Area. Stay tuned for updates on the Junior Camp, coming up in March!

We’re stoked for this season!

Front Row left to right: Team Director Julia Violich, U23 Rider Sandy Floren, U23 Rider Daniel Johnson, Women’s Junior Rider Savilia Blunk, U23 Rider Carson Beckett, Strength Training Coach Aaron Lautman.

Back Row left to right: Coach Jason Jablonski, U23 Rider Eli Kranefuss, Men’s Junior Rider Jon Jon Drain, Guest of Honor Pro-Cyclist Todd Wells, U23 Rider Jerry Dufour, U23 Rider Luke Vrouwenvelder, U23 Rider Steffen Andersen.



USAC Cyclo-Cross National Championships, Hartford, CT – January 4th – 5th

CX Men U23 Pro

1st Lance Haidet – Alum

CX U23 Women

1st Ellen Noble – Alum

CX Men Elite Pro

5th Tobin Ortenblad – Alum


USAC Fat Bike National Championships, Grand Rapids, MI – January 28th

Junior Men 15-18

1st Bobby Jones

2nd Annual Borealis Fat Bike World Championships, Crested Butte, CO – January 25th – 29th

Open Men U21

1st Daniel Johnson


TBF Racing MTB Classic, Granite Bay, CA – January 29th

Pro/ Expert Men

1st Xander Sugarman – Alum

2nd Bryce Lewis – Alum

HS Sport Female

1st Mina Ricci

2nd Mackenzie Lewis

Novice Men

1st Skye Ricci

UCI Cyclo-Cross World Championships, Bieles, Luxembourg – January 28th

CX U23 Women

2nd Ellen Noble – Alum

The All-New 2017 Bear Roster!

We are very excited and pleased to announce the Bear Development Roster for 2017. We had so many qualified applicants and so many returning riders this year that we increased the size of the team for 2017… And we’re stoked about it!!

Look for news about us in the upcoming months as we get ready for the season ahead.

Women MTB

  • Katja Freeburn
  • Mackenzie Lewis
  • Madeline Robbins
  • Mina Ricci
  • Savilia Blunk

Men MTB 15-16

  • Bobby Jones
  • Ryder Uterecht
  • Skye Ricci

Men MTB 17-18

  • Adam Croft
  • Dylan Fryer
  • Jon Jon Drain
  • Josh Peterson
  • Julian LePelch
  • Liam Howard
  • Michael Mace
  • Tate Meintjes

Men U23

  • Carson Beckett
  • Daniel Johnson
  • Eli Kranefuss
  • Jerry Dufour
  • Luke Vrouwenvelder
  • Nathan Barnett
  • Steffen Andersen
  • Sandy Floren


Applications for the 2017 Season open in August!

The Bear Development Team will be accepting race resumes for the 2017 season from August 1st, 2016 to August 30th, 2016.

Please send a professional race resume with all your results, not just top finishes, of the past three years to

Be sure to include your contact information (full name, cell phone, personal e-mail) as well as your date of birth, and your race age for the 2017 season.

We also require two letters of recommendation. One letter should be cycling related, and the other should be a personal reference letter. Your cover letter should tell us why you want to be on Bear Dev, and what you will do as a team member to add value to the team.

We look forward to hearing from you!

2016 – New Year, New Bears!

We’re stoked to announce the 2016 Bear Development Team Roster!

Lauren Desrosiers
Mackenzie Lewis
Savilia Blunk
Uma Teesdale
Viveka Brockman

Clayton Puckett
Connor Jinguji
Dylan Fryer
John Waldron
Jon Jon Drain
Josh Peterson
Liam Howard
Matthew Tracey-Cook
Roberto Cribley
Tate Meintjes

Bryce Lewis
Carson Benjamin
Eli Kranefuss
Jerry Dufour
Nate Barnett